Evaluation of W.i.P  27.11.16

To practise what I teach I thought of using the evaluation sheets devised for students to use as a plenary towards the end of an art lesson. I thought like for the students I teach, that this would be good way to help me with my reflection.

1. What I did today

Made hand made bowls with very few tools. The exception of the tools that were made with technology by use of the laser cutter and a makeup

sponge.  This is based on my discussion with Michael Eden back in August this year, where we talked about tools and just using the hand as a tool.  I could have just simply made a pinch pot. But I also wanted to explore where digital can be used with pottery at a basic   level.

2. What I learned today

Smoothing the porcelain clay with a brush causes lines in the clay. Using my fingers that was first dipped in water then I have more control. I abandoned the brush. I did use the make up sponge another tool. I learnt that dabbing the sponge onto the clay piece, very gently helps the clay to form a concave shape.

3. What I did well.

I rolled out the porcelain clay to a even thin-ness of about 2-3millimetres. I used left over pieces of clay to make small petal shapes. I tend not to through away any left over pieces despite not having a clay bin and extruder.
4. What I must work on next

Laser cut more Adinkra shapes and frames two be used for applying decoration and form to my bowls. Evaluate what techniques works well.

5. What I may need to consider

How to be more sustainable when making. The 3D ceramic printer is digital tool to create various forms. In a long-term I consider using one. For now,  to think of digital tools I can make simply to be used with clay. Plaster moulds or 3d scan of mould to 3d printing a mould or extruder shape.

Overall thought.

What I have learnt in this process that if I create intricate and contrasting shapes using illustrator I can then laser cut these be used with my clay forms.

Thinking of Erin Furminska’s application of stencil shapes on her clay forms.